Why? The CrossFit Open

Nick Billock - At Your Service
4 min readMar 13, 2021

--

To understand my “why,” you need to know the “how” I came to CrossFit. I was a long distance runner for 17+ years when I was invited to my first CrossFit class on November 4, 2014. It was a simple triplet of rowing, kettlebell swings and squats. In the voice of Pat Sherwood, owner of CrossFit Linchpin, it “couldn’t be simpler.” It laid me out! But I loved it. Fast forward over 6 years later and that simple invite changed my life in a massive way. Gone were the days of endless hours on the trails and roads by myself and in their place, time spent with my bride (since 1992) in this new functional fitness way of life. We have been a member of two CrossFit affiliates but then brought the fitness home in 2016. Since then, we added on a 3rd car garage that has always been our CrossFit space, even before the drywall/sheetrock was hung. I obtained my CrossFit Level 1 certificate in 2016, I have volunteered for the Regionals in 2018 and the Reebok CrossFit Games in Madison, WI in 2019. Today, I am a member and volunteer with CrossFit Linchpin since May 2018. 5 days a week, you’ll find me in my garage, often with my wife in my garage. I “feel” very much of the global CrossFit community, though, even while alone.

May 2018: CrossFit East Regionals in Albany, NY
Selfie with Pat Sherwood at the 2019 CrossFit Games in Madison, WI

Thanks to social media, the connectivity is high and sharing of life and experiences rich, especially with my own CrossFit Linchpin community that has no actual physical location. Instead, it is literally a global community of nearly 4000 people from every walk of life, color, age, background, and abilities. From elite gymnasts to those embracing fitness for the first time in their lives. Via other mediums such as YouTube and Instagram, connection to the greater CrossFit community is rich and growing. Common household names such as the Buttery Bros, Talking Elite Fitness, Make WODs Great Again and countless podcasts and channels led by many of our elite athletes provide an endless flow of connection the globe over.

But “why” the Open? Everyone has their own reason for shelling out their $20 to CrossFit, LLC and many don’t even register yet still participate. For me, it’s the connection that is unique to CrossFit. In no other time does the global community do the same workout at the same time…or within a 4 day period. From the elites we love or hate to those who live in other countries a half world away, we all join together to give our best…together. In a CrossFit affiliate (gym), it’s even better as high-fives, cheers and hugs follow these workouts. COMMUNITY is a massive reason for why I continue to follow the CrossFit methodology. Sure, I want to grow old healthy and strong but feeling a part of a global movement and pursuit of the same is extra special. So as the 2021 CrossFit Games has kicked off and Open 21.1 has landed, I once again lean forward into the Open. I’ll give the Open my best and celebrate with others as they do the same. In fact, 21.1 is already in the books and you can see me struggling through my arch nemesis (double unders) right here yesterday.

Now how about a trip back through memory lane? A photo a year from my years doing the CrossFit Open since 2015.

2015 CrossFit Open 15.1 at All Heart CrossFit
2016 CrossFit Open 16.1 at CrossFit 881 (now closed)
CrossFit Open 17.2 … Chilly!
2018 CrossFit Open 18.1
2019 CrossFit Open 19.3 in Houston, TX! COMMUNITY! They were awesome hosts, by the way.
2020 CrossFit Open
2021 CrossFit Open 21.1

--

--

Nick Billock - At Your Service

In short, I love life and living it to its fullest with my bride of 30+ years. CrossFit, rucking, military, fatherhood and one day, a thru-hike of the AT.